- Can you use opponent’s ball in pool?
- What happens if you miss the black ball in pool?
- What happens if you don’t hit your ball first in Pool?
- Do you lose if you don’t hit the 8 ball?
- Can you move the white ball in pool after a foul?
- Where does the white ball go after a scratch?
- What happens if you hit someone else’s ball in pool?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?
- Is it a scratch if you don’t hit your ball first?
- What happens if the white ball goes in before the black?
- Can you hit the opposite ball in pool?
- Do pool balls get old?
- What happens if you scratch on the break in Pool?
- Do you have to hit your ball first in 8-ball?
Can you use opponent’s ball in pool?
As long as it is a legal shot and you make a ball of your own as well, then it is legal.
Regardless if both the balls went into the same pocket and his ball went in first.
And of course if it’s not a legal shot, you lose your turn and you get a foul with the opponent getting ball-in-hand..
What happens if you miss the black ball in pool?
LOSS OF GAME a) If a player pockets the black ball before all the balls in their own group10, the player loses the game. b) A player going in off the black ball when the black ball is pocketed loses the game.
What happens if you don’t hit your ball first in Pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. … If you fail and put the white ball into a hole, it’s considered as a mistake (SCRATCH). If you make a fault, you are punished. The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing.
Do you lose if you don’t hit the 8 ball?
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … The third infraction will result in loss of game.
Can you move the white ball in pool after a foul?
PENALTY FOLLOWING ANY FOUL If the cue ball has come to rest on the playing surface, then the player having two visits may proceed to play from where the cue ball lies, or the cue ball may be played from any position on or behind the baulk line. Moving the cue ball in this manner does not count as a shot, or visit.
Where does the white ball go after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
What happens if you hit someone else’s ball in pool?
Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
Is ball in hand a real rule?
“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)
What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
Is it a scratch if you don’t hit your ball first?
Table Scratch. When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket.
What happens if the white ball goes in before the black?
If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
Can you hit the opposite ball in pool?
It is never a foul to make an opponents ball as the result of your shot. After legal contact between cue ball and a legal object ball, your opponents balls are free to be hit, caromed off of, or pocketed, and there is never a foul.
Do pool balls get old?
The average billiard balls wear out after about a year of use to a size that is no longer considered to meet specifications. The cue ball will degrade faster due to constantly being struck by cue tips. However, if your pool table isn’t subjected to much use, then your balls can last well over a year.
What happens if you scratch on the break in Pool?
8-BALL POCKETED ON THE BREAK. If the breaker scratches while pocketing the 8-ball on the break, the incoming player has the option of a re-rack or having the 8-ball spotted and begin shooting with ball in hand behind the headstring.
Do you have to hit your ball first in 8-ball?
(Defined) On all shots (except on the break and when the table is open), the shooter must hit one of his group of balls first and (1) pocket a numbered ball, or (2) cause the cue ball or any numbered ball to contact a rail.